Header Innovation
Innovation

...dedicated to Neuroradiology

For nearly 40 years, BALT has supported the development of Interventional Neuroradiology, a medical specialty arisen from the need to approach pathologies which were untreatable with Neurosurgery, via blood vessels. Major technological advancements along with the Interventional Neuroradiology teams’ know-how have enabled this endovascular treatment to become the first-line treatment for various intracranial vascular pathologies.

With the development of new embolization and catheterization materials and along with the continuous improvement of brain imaging, the scope of actions of Interventional Neuroradiology areas has broadened in the past years. However, French school remains one of the most famous throughout the world.

Nowadays, three main fields benefit from this high-tech discipline: cerebral arteriovenous malformations (AVMs), ischemic strokes (IS) and cerebral aneurysms. These pathologies represent a major challenge for public health authorities as strokes are the 3rd cause of death and the leading cause of disability in developed countries.

Vignette 01
Internal carotid artery aneurysm
Vignette 02
Stent implanted to treat aneurysm
Vignette 03
12-month follow-up: complete healing of the aneurysm

Header Innovation
Innovation

...au service de la neuroradiologie

Depuis bientôt 40 ans, Balt accompagne le développement de la neuroradiologie interventionnelle, spécialité née de la nécessité d’aborder par l’intérieur des vaisseaux des pathologies intraitables par neurochirurgie. Les progrès technologiques majeurs ainsi que le savoir-faire des équipes de neuroradiologie interventionnelle ont permis à ce traitement endovasculaire de devenir le traitement de première intention dans de nombreuses pathologies vasculaires intracrâniennes.

Les domaines d’action de la neuroradiologie interventionnelle se sont élargis de façon très importante au cours de ces dernières années avec le développement des nouveaux matériaux d'embolisation et de cathétérisme ainsi que l’amélioration constante de l’imagerie du cerveau. L’école française était et reste toujours l’une des plus renommée dans le monde.

Aujourd’hui, trois grands domaines d’application bénéficient de cette discipline qui requiert une haute technicité : les malformations artérioveineuses (MAV) cérébrales, les accidents vasculaires cérébraux (AVC) ischémiques et les anévrismes cérébraux. Ces différentes pathologies représentent un enjeu majeur de santé publique, les accidents vasculaires cérébraux (ischémiques ou hémorragiques) représentant la 3ème cause de mortalité et la 1ère cause de handicap dans les pays développés.

Vignette 01
Anévrisme de l’artère carotide interne.
Vignette 02
Endoprothèse SILK de diversion de flux implantée en regard de l’anévrisme.
Vignette 03
Suivi à 12 mois : disparition totale de l’anévrisme.